TPL5110 breakout problem

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
tovap

TPL5110 breakout problem

Post by tovap »

Hi!

I am planning to use the TPL5110 breakout board to save power in my project. The breakout board works fine on its own when it is not powering anything, I can send the done signal from my MCU properly and it powers down and then up after the right time.

When using it to power my project I have run into some problems. If the cable to the done pin is connected the project doesn't restart on its own, and the LED on the breakout board sometimes starts blinking quickly. If I restart it manually by pushing the button on the breakout board it seems to works most of the time.

I'm quite new to this and very confused. Does anyone have any idea what I have done wrong?

I'm using a NodeMCU ESP82266 and I have tried hooking up the done pin to a few different of the GPIOs since I though there might be something happening there when it is starting up, but none of them have worked. I'm not sure if the problem is in the MCU or in the breakout board...

Thankful for any tips!

zener

Re: TPL5110 breakout problem

Post by zener »

A schematic would help us understand your connections, even if it is hand drawn. A schematic of the setup that works, and the setup that doesn't work. Then maybe we can come up with some ideas.

tovap

Post by tovap »

power_timer_scematic.jpg
power_timer_scematic.jpg (269.95 KiB) Viewed 2300 times