Lithium Ion Batteries for Dummies

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
speed711

Lithium Ion Batteries for Dummies

Post by speed711 »

I'm currently making a light that uses batteries for my apartment. the only problem with this is that I'm somewhat new to using batteries and I'm used to working with AC current so please forgive me if I'm just doing something stupid. The light that I am making uses about 11 watts of power and so when I originally did the math I thought the 3.7 volts 2500mAh lithium-ion polymer battery (Product #328) would be a good fit. I also purchased one of your lithium ion chargers (product #259). I didn't realize until after I got the battery in the mail and redoing my math that this battery was to small, but I figured I might as well see if I can get any power into this light so I went and wired everything up.