Need help with Raspberry Pi RGB LED Matrix Webapp project

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Bobarian

Need help with Raspberry Pi RGB LED Matrix Webapp project

Post by Bobarian »

I recently got my Raspberry Pi, my HAT, and my LED panels. I was able to get them up and running following this guide:

https://learn.adafruit.com/raspberry-pi ... ix-display

So I know the panels work and everything is good there. However what I am building is a low rez pixel digital art frame for the wall which I want to put pictures and animated images on it as an art piece. I found a project walk through that looks exactly what I need (ability to create a web interface that I can connect to and load stuff up on it). However this is where I get stuck.

The guide I am trying to follow is this one: https://learn.adafruit.com/raspberry-pi ... p/overview

(Note I am a complete noob to all this, great at following instructions but navigating outside of those instructions becomes a challenge).

I've gotten all the way through without seemingly any errors to the point where I need to run some demos on it. I run the command:

Code: Select all

$ cd rpi-rgb-led-matrix/examples-api-use 

$ sudo ./demo -D -m 0 --led-no-hardware-pulse --led-gpio-mapping=adafruit-hat
And suppose to see a spinning square. My LEDs never light up even though on my monitor the program looks like it is running. I tried the next one to show the scrolling text and same issue there.

One thing to note, when I went through the first tutorial it had me setup some configuration to tell it how the screens were configured and in what order. This second one didn't seem to do that at all.

Another issue further along (I kept going seeing if I could at least finish up and get the web service up) is that I get to a point where it asks to just some commands:

Code: Select all