📬❄️📦Adafruit Holiday Shipping Deadlines 2019: Please place all UPS 3 Day orders by 11am ET Friday December 13 📬❄️📦

7805 Regulator-based USB?
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

7805 Regulator-based USB?

by Snipeye on Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:08 am

Alright, here's the deal - I'm a NOOB at electronics. I kinda know what things do, but for the most part, I'm clueless. It's not the components that confuse me, it's mostly how they work, why you need them, etc.

Anyway, that's immaterial. I've been making a couple of 7805 based USB's, and they work perfectly... I think. I'm interested in selling them, and I know that the 7805 will fry before it gives out over 5 volts, but I'm not so sure about current. How does current work when charging something USB? Does the device charging only draw as much power as it needs, or what? Because I want(need) to be sure that nobody can claim that my device damaged their USB thing.

Last I checked, the 7805 regulator could give up to 1.5A, and this circuit will be powered by a 9v, so I don't think that will be happening, but I still need to know that my device won't give out too much current. Do I need a current regulator or what? Like I said, I'm completely clueless.
Snipeye

Re: 7805 Regulator-based USB?

by Entropy on Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:24 pm

Snipeye wrote:Alright, here's the deal - I'm a NOOB at electronics. I kinda know what things do, but for the most part, I'm clueless. It's not the components that confuse me, it's mostly how they work, why you need them, etc.