📬❄️📦Adafruit Holiday Shipping Deadlines 2019: Please place all UPS 3 Day orders by 11am ET Friday December 13 📬❄️📦
0

Xbee arduino
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Xbee arduino

by drummerboyx on Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:15 pm

Hello,
Is it possible for there to be 1 x bee module communicating with maybe 2-4 separately? For example, have 1 master arduino controlling 3 others independently.

Any ideas??

Elijah
drummerboyx
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:36 am

Re: Xbee arduino

by franklin97355 on Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:27 pm

Yes, it's possible.

franklin97355
 
Posts: 21362
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Lacomb, OR.

Re: Xbee arduino

by drummerboyx on Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:24 pm

Thanks!
Is it possible to have a xbee pro (100mw) and a xbee (1mw) communicating? And if I have the 1mw xbee a mile away, can it still receive data from the 100mw xbee, but not send back data?

Elijah
drummerboyx
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:36 am

Re: Xbee arduino

by adafruit on Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:00 am

you can mix and match pro and notpro but xbees are not 'stupid' and need to be able to communicate both ways
so youd need two xbee pros

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Xbee arduino

by drummerboyx on Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:20 am

Thanks!

Well, what I'm planning on doing is get 1 xbee pro (that has a 15 mile range!) on a master arduino. Then have "zones" of other arduino boards within a 300ft distance from the master arduino. I also want to set up an arduino a couple miles away from the master arduino (this arduino will have the xbee pro that has a longer range). My plan is that the "zones" of arduinos, including the one that is a couple miles away, all being controlled by 1 master arduino.

Is this possible?

Sorry if I'm getting a little confusing... (-;

Elijah
drummerboyx
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:36 am

Re: Xbee arduino

by adafruit on Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:39 pm

sure

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Xbee arduino

by franklin97355 on Tue Mar 30, 2010 6:25 pm

Just be aware the 15 mile xbee is a 900mhz device and is used with high gain antennas. Not your normal 2.4g xbees.

franklin97355
 
Posts: 21362
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Lacomb, OR.

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.