0

X10 arduino help
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

X10 arduino help

by drummerboyx on Thu Apr 01, 2010 8:46 pm

Hello!
I now want to implement X10 in my Arduino "HouseBot"... I'm wondering if it's possible to make a device (or hack) that can read the x10 signals from the wall and then control a servo based on dimming (I guess...). Maybe even use another arduino to decode?

Thanks!
Elijah
drummerboyx
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:36 am

Re: X10 arduino help

by johngineer on Thu Apr 01, 2010 8:50 pm

drummerboyx wrote:Hello!
I now want to implement X10 in my Arduino "HouseBot"... I'm wondering if it's possible to make a device (or hack) that can read the x10 signals from the wall and then control a servo based on dimming (I guess...). Maybe even use another arduino to decode?

Thanks!
Elijah


The Arduino X10 page pretty much explains the whole set up: http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/X10
Adafruit Director of Imaging
Member of Technical Staff
Poles up, zeroes down.
johngineer
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 6:05 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA

Re: X10 arduino help

by drummerboyx on Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:06 pm

Yah...I looked there...how can I just do it without an external arduino...so I can have my "master arduino" control a servo connected via x10 in another room (this will not use an arduino).

Does this make sense?? Maybe if there are 120v servos? (just an idea... (-; )
drummerboyx
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:36 am

Re: X10 arduino help

by franklin97355 on Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:11 pm

How do you plan to get the signals to your bot?

franklin97355
 
Posts: 21362
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Lacomb, OR.

Re: X10 arduino help

by johngineer on Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:24 pm

drummerboyx wrote:Yah...I looked there...how can I just do it without an external arduino...so I can have my "master arduino" control a servo connected via x10 in another room (this will not use an arduino).

Does this make sense?? Maybe if there are 120v servos? (just an idea... (-; )


If I'm understanding you correctly, you want a servo that plugs directly into the wall and receives signals over x10 as well as power. Is that right?

Well, I'm sure you could do it without another Arduino, but I think it would probably end up costing you more and you'd have less control in the end. I mean, you could buy any number of products that can actuate a servo (basically an X10 controlled relay), but I don't know if you'd have feedback control of the servo unless you incorporated some sort of microcontroller anyway. Considering most X10 products cost at least $30, it would make more sense (to me, anyway) to buy or build a simple MC board for this task (the DC Boarduino would probably be perfect for this, actually).

franklin97355 wrote:How do you plan to get the signals to your bot?



I don't think it's a "bot" in the usual sense (i.e. Bender). I think it's the home automation command unit.
Adafruit Director of Imaging
Member of Technical Staff
Poles up, zeroes down.
johngineer
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 6:05 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA

Re: X10 arduino help

by drummerboyx on Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:36 pm

Ok...thanks guys! I think I should try to use a boarduino and just put it into an x10 enclosure... I'm going to use a x10 interface to get the x10 signals out...

And yes johngineer, it is a home automation command unit. (-;

Also, does anyone have any ideas for the code using a boarduino and x10? I'm a newbie (as you can probably tell) to arduino and programming...

Elijah
drummerboyx
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:36 am

Re: X10 arduino help

by franklin97355 on Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:11 am

Johngineer posted a link to the x10 tutorial and there are links from there that will help.

franklin97355
 
Posts: 21362
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Lacomb, OR.

Re: X10 arduino help

by drummerboyx on Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:14 pm

How would I have the arduino receive x10 data...I can't figure out how to include that in my code...
drummerboyx
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:36 am

Re: X10 arduino help

by franklin97355 on Sat Apr 03, 2010 11:08 pm

Have you gone to the link, downloaded the zip file, unziped the file, loaded the resulting files to where they go and read the info?

franklin97355
 
Posts: 21362
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Lacomb, OR.

Re: X10 arduino help

by drummerboyx on Sun Apr 04, 2010 7:37 am

Yes...I did all of that! The link has no info on receiving x10 data from the wall and communicating between 2 arduinos with x10...
drummerboyx
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:36 am

Re: X10 arduino help

by johngineer on Sun Apr 04, 2010 10:59 am

drummerboyx wrote:Yes...I did all of that! The link has no info on receiving x10 data from the wall and communicating between 2 arduinos with x10...


You don't just "receive x10 data from the wall". You need to have an interface, like the Arduino page said.

Do you have one?
Adafruit Director of Imaging
Member of Technical Staff
Poles up, zeroes down.
johngineer
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 6:05 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA

Re: X10 arduino help

by drummerboyx on Sun Apr 04, 2010 11:06 am

Yep I got one...so I'm guessing if I want 2 arduinos to talk over x10 then I would have to get 2 two way interfaces, one for each arduino...
drummerboyx
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:36 am

Re: X10 arduino help

by johngineer on Sun Apr 04, 2010 11:26 am

That is correct.

What is this servo going to do, anyway?
Adafruit Director of Imaging
Member of Technical Staff
Poles up, zeroes down.
johngineer
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 6:05 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA

Re: X10 arduino help

by drummerboyx on Sun Apr 04, 2010 11:38 am

It's actually going to feed my fish...the servo is hooked up to a container that drops food into the tank. The tank is in another part of the house than where "HouseBot" is located so x10 would be great! Also, if I get this to work, then I can have a cat feeder, ect that can control stuff that is usually not x10 compatible.
drummerboyx
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:36 am

Re: X10 arduino help

by franklin97355 on Sun Apr 04, 2010 1:21 pm

I'm not sure what you mean by "communicate". You will be able to send and probably receive X10 commands but I think that will be all. You should also look into xbee and using an X10 appliance module as alternatives.

franklin97355
 
Posts: 21362
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Lacomb, OR.

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.