Question about oscilloscope output.
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Question about oscilloscope output.

by analogpixel on Sun Jul 28, 2019 2:09 pm

I was trying to get an attiny85 to work with a neopixel ring, and nothing was working (although I was able to push code to the chip just fine) , and then I finally swapped out the chip, and it started working (so bad chip.) I took a reading with both the bad chip and the good chip on the oscilloscope, and on the bad chip I had "blocky" waves, (btw I'm not very experienced with the oscilloscope) I was just wondering what the "blocky" waves coming out of the chip would be indicating?

This is the bad waveform:
bad2.png
bad2.png (7.66 KiB) Viewed 95 times

this is the good waveform:
good.png
good.png (8.7 KiB) Viewed 95 times

thanks,
matt

analogpixel

Re: Question about oscilloscope output.

by adafruit_support_mike on Sun Jul 28, 2019 2:19 pm

Neither of those look like the control signals for a NeoPixel.

Could you post a photo showing your hardware and the oscilloscope probe connections please? 800x600 images usually work best.

adafruit_support_mike

by analogpixel on Sun Jul 28, 2019 2:31 pm

The scope is hooked to the ground of the tiny, and the pin used for the signal (pin 0).

Screen Shot 2019-07-28 at 12.25.30 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-07-28 at 12.25.30 PM.png (902.54 KiB) Viewed 86 times

analogpixel

by analogpixel on Sun Jul 28, 2019 6:38 pm

I was fiddling with the scope, and got better output between the good and bad, maybe this is the scope output you were expecting to see:

good:
good.jpg
good.jpg (33.85 KiB) Viewed 70 times

bad:
bad.jpg
bad.jpg (29.61 KiB) Viewed 70 times

looks like the bad chip just wasn't triggering high enough.

analogpixel

by adafruit_support_mike on Mon Jul 29, 2019 2:08 pm

That’s more like what I’d expect, yes.