New(ish) to Electronics and unsure where to start
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

New(ish) to Electronics and unsure where to start

by game_of_drones on Sun Jul 28, 2019 9:53 pm

Hello all,

Like the subject says I'm sort of new to electronics, but now that I have the time and money I really want to get knee deep into it to work on a few projects that I've wanted to do for a long time.

The problem is that I am not 100% sure where to begin as I'm not an absolute beginner, but I'm also not a University level engineer, the two main area's that electronics books and kits seem to be marketed for. I took electronics class at high school for 2 years so I know the basics and know how to solder but there are huge gaps in my knowledge, for example, I know what a resistor is and does but I have no clue how it is used as a "Pull Up" resistor.

Some of the longer term projects that I would like to accomplish are: (and yes I am setting the bar high, and realise these will be years off completion)
    Smart Home Gadgets (like a Secure NFC Door Lock, and Smart Lighting, Home Sound, etc)
    Home Made CNC Machine (so that I can make parts for other projects)

If there is anyone out there that can suggest some good reading or projects to start me off in the right direction to achieving some of my longer term I would be super great full.

Thanks in advance to whoever responds,

Game Of Drones

game_of_drones

Re: New(ish) to Electronics and unsure where to start

by adafruit_support_mike on Mon Jul 29, 2019 4:56 pm

Start with Forrest Mims:

https://www.adafruit.com/product/517

He has a very approachable style, with an emphasis on, “here’s something you can build, and enough theory to get the general idea of how it works.”

Once you’re ready to dive deeper into the theory, “Practical Electronic for Inventors” is a good next step. It has more detail about basic components and how they interact.