0

connecting 2 NeoTrellis boards
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

connecting 2 NeoTrellis boards

by regelous on Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:21 am

I have one NeoTrellis board working fine. And I have very carefully connected a second board and soldered it's A0 pads to give it a unique address. I edited this line in Adafruit_NeoTrellis.h to tell the library that I have 2 boards:

#define NEO_TRELLIS_NUM_COLS 4

I changed it to 8. But if I do that then neither board does anything. Setting it back to 4 and power cycling will get the 1st board working again. I thought that maybe the 2nd board was faulty so I tried another one. Same results. Am I doing something wrong?

regelous
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:12 am

Re: connecting 2 NeoTrellis boards

by adafruit_support_mike on Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:45 am

You shouldn't need to edit the library. Each NeoTrellis is an independent device, so you have to write your code in those terms.

The code toward the bottom of this page shows how to configure multiple NeoTrellis objects:

https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-neo ... duino-code

adafruit_support_mike
 
Posts: 59172
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: connecting 2 NeoTrellis boards

by regelous on Sat Aug 03, 2019 12:23 am

Awesome! Thanks Mike. I should have read that page more carefully. That's what happens when coding at 1 am.

regelous
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:12 am

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.