0

Unable to upload sketch to Metro
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by Hesterry on Wed Jul 08, 2020 8:17 am

After a brief hiatus, I began experimenting with my Adafruit Metro again, and suddenly I'm not able to upload sketches to it. I had a number of errors occurring at first (and didn't think to record them at the time), and it now seems to have settled on this, just attempting to upload the default "Blink" sketch: https://pastebin.com/9Nj4mVuC

I'm fairly new to this, so I wouldn't even know where to begin with diagnostics, other than trying different USB ports and cables and checking that the right board and COM port are selected in the IDE. I don't know why it suddenly stopped working, though it's probably worth noting it would occasionally fail to upload sketches ever since the day I bought it (maybe half the time), but now I've tried a few dozen times in a row, with zero success. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Side note, does it matter what "Programmer" I'm using? (Under the tools menu of the Arduino IDE)

Hesterry
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 8:05 am

Re: Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by dastels on Wed Jul 08, 2020 12:50 pm

Your error output indicates that you have "Arduino UNO" selected as the board. What model of "Adafruit Metro" do you have?

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 4851
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by Hesterry on Wed Jul 08, 2020 8:10 pm

Adafruit METRO 328

Hesterry
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 8:05 am

Re: Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by dastels on Wed Jul 08, 2020 8:24 pm

In the board setting select "Adadfruit Metro" under "Adafruit boards" and try again.

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 4851
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by Hesterry on Wed Jul 08, 2020 10:08 pm

Actually, I don't see the Metro listed, and I don't see any entry in the board manager. Is there an external board manager link for it?

Hesterry
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 8:05 am

Re: Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by dastels on Wed Jul 08, 2020 11:00 pm

You may need to install the "Adafruit AVR Boards" package in the boards manager. See https://learn.adafruit.com/add-boards-arduino-v164/setup for instructions on how to install it.

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 4851
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by Hesterry on Thu Jul 09, 2020 5:38 am

Alright, I installed the correct boards, and selected them. I got this error first:
https://pastebin.com/BQhx2kep

Then I tried a different USB port, and got this error:
https://pastebin.com/e1befi4e

Hesterry
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 8:05 am

Re: Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by dastels on Thu Jul 09, 2020 11:51 am

Try resetting at different times while it's attempting to sync. It seems to sork sometimes. Also, make sure there is no terminal open on the port... it will block upload connections.

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 4851
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by Hesterry on Thu Jul 09, 2020 12:36 pm

Still no luck... Latest two error logs:

https://pastebin.com/6M3cdedg
https://pastebin.com/2nQd4DpR

I tried resetting it during each sync attempt of the first log, then it seemed to stop recognizing that the device is connected. And, there's no terminal open on that port as far as I'm aware... Also, should it be showing up as "Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge" in my Devices and Printers?

Hesterry
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 8:05 am

Re: Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by dastels on Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:17 pm

That might be showing up right... that could be the USB ship. Though I thought it was a 32u4 that did the USB/UART interface.
Ah Ha! It does use the SiLabs chip.

See: https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-metro-mini/arduino-ide-usage and follow the relevant instructions.

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 4851
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by Hesterry on Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:52 pm

I actually installed those drivers before posting this thread, and followed their recommended setup. Didn't seem to make any difference, unfortunately.

Hesterry
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 8:05 am

Re: Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by dastels on Thu Jul 09, 2020 4:25 pm

I'm reaching out to the greater support group.

dastels
 
Posts: 4851
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by Hesterry on Thu Jul 09, 2020 4:42 pm

Much appreciated, and thank you for your time!

Hesterry
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 8:05 am

Re: Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by Hesterry on Sun Jul 26, 2020 10:18 pm

How long should I expect to wait for a response from the support group?

Hesterry
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 8:05 am

Re: Unable to upload sketch to Metro

by pauls1 on Mon Aug 03, 2020 7:27 pm

Unable to upload to metro mini
I as well am unable to upload blink example to newly received metro mini ATmega328.
Followed instructions at https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-metro-mini, loaded "Adafruit Windows Driver package. When you run it, make sure to click that you want to install the SiLabs CP210x and FTDI chip drivers too!" from instruction set.
A device appears as COM3 when plugged in and disappears when disconnected, PWR on LED is lit, TX LED blinks 3X no RX LED indication.
Computer is MS Surface, WIN 10
Thanks for any help.
Paul

error message
<
Arduino: 1.8.12 (Windows 10), Board: "Adafruit Metro"

Sketch uses 924 bytes (2%) of program storage space. Maximum is 32256 bytes.
Global variables use 9 bytes (0%) of dynamic memory, leaving 2039 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 2048 bytes.
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 1 of 10: not in sync: resp=0xda
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 2 of 10: not in sync: resp=0xda
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 3 of 10: not in sync: resp=0xda
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 4 of 10: not in sync: resp=0xda
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 5 of 10: not in sync: resp=0xda
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 6 of 10: not in sync: resp=0xda
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 7 of 10: not in sync: resp=0xda
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 8 of 10: not in sync: resp=0xda
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 9 of 10: not in sync: resp=0xda
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 10 of 10: not in sync: resp=0xda
Problem uploading to board. See http://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Troubleshooting#upload for suggestions.

This report would have more information with
"Show verbose output during compilation"
option enabled in File -> Preferences.>
Attachments
SI labs port.PNG
SI labs port.PNG (36.61 KiB) Viewed 39 times

pauls1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:57 am

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.