Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

Clarification Request - 3.3v logic w/ 5v power to 2946
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Clarification Request - 3.3v logic w/ 5v power to 2946

by eph123 on Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:14 pm

Greetings,

Please let me start by saying that I've chosen a project to make a custom keyboard as my initial foray into learning electronics. I'm a total noob, and apologize if my question is daft because of my lack of understanding!

I am seeking clarification of the documentation for the Adafruit 2946 I31FL3731 16x9 Charlieplexed PWM LED driver. The documentation states:

"If you are using a 3.3V logic, you can ... power from 5V and then use ~2.2K resistors from SDA and SCL to 3.3V to 'overpower' the built in 20K pullup resistors.

If I'm interpreting this correctly, it seems to be saying connect 5V on the logic board with VCC on the 2946. That makes sense because that's power to power. My confusion is more specifically regarding this part:

from SDA and SCL to 3.3V

Does that mean a connection between the 2946's SDA and SCL pins and the logic board's 3.3V pin, with a 2.2Kohm resistor on each of those two connections? In other words:

1. Wire between logic board GND and 2946 GND (Ground connection).
2. Wire between logic board 5V and 2946 VCC (Power connection).
3. Wire between logic board SDA and 2946 SDA (Data connection).
4. Wire between logic board 3.3V pin and 2946 SDA, with a 2.2Kohm resistor between (Power and data connection?).
5. Wire between logic board SCL and 2946 SCL (Clock connection).
6. Wire between logic board 3.3V pin and 2946 SCL, with a 2.2Kohm resistor between (Power and clock connection?).