What to do?
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

What to do?

by SuperMiguel on Tue Sep 14, 2010 12:39 pm

So im an electric engineer student. Still taking my prerequisite classes (this semester im taking Calculus II, Chemistry I, Economics for Engineers and Communication for engineers) but i have a bit of free time and want to start learning about electronics..

In the pass i have built a small robot using arduino (http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=14402), i have done multiple things with arduino but that was the biggest.. I also bought an STK500 AVR board, but since i dont know alot of C i got bored and trough it in a box, i also did a bit of work with 555 (basic timer), i stared reading "The Art of Electronics" but got bored in chapter one, so i stopped reading it..

So what should i do? what you guys recommend??
SuperMiguel

Re: What to do?

by zener on Tue Sep 14, 2010 2:29 pm

See if you can get a part time job or internship at a local electronics company doing testing or repairs or even some assembly. You could get a lot of experience that way. What area are you in?

zener

by SuperMiguel on Tue Sep 14, 2010 2:51 pm

Zener wrote:See if you can get a part time job or internship at a local electronics company doing testing or repairs or even some assembly. You could get a lot of experience that way. What area are you in?

im in tampa, florida, and thats a very good idea, but dont even know the name of that kind of position :P all electronics positions i see in monster.com or career builder required an BSEE... stil looking

edit: went to interships.com, looked for engineering/electronics around tampa and nothing :9
Last edited by SuperMiguel on Tue Sep 14, 2010 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
SuperMiguel

by uoip on Tue Sep 14, 2010 3:03 pm