🇺🇸Adafruit will not be shipping orders on Independence Day Monday 7/4/2022. Please allow extra time for your order to ship and plan accordingly.🇺🇸

Led ring on a glue gun, help needed.
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Led ring on a glue gun, help needed.

by TruckMechanic on Wed Jan 20, 2021 2:43 pm

Hi, I'm a mechanic and I would like to improve my electric glue gun. I'm thinking of installing a led ring around the nozzle of the gun to get better visibility when applying black glue on black surfaces.
The gun has a 18V battery but I'm not planning to use this as a power-source straight away. I want to test the lighting first and if it works good I consider installing a buck converter. My plan is to use a small USB powerbank to start with. The whole system has to be as light and compact as possible since the gun is already pretty heavy. Also I need some sort of quick disconnect between the Led ring and the rest of the system, I'm not sure which connector I should use. I have to disconnect it every time I use it.

I've been doing some research, but I got lost in all the possibilities along the way.
Here's what I've come up with so far:
The Neopixel 16 RGB ring would fit perfectly around the nozzle. I don't really need the colors, but if my glue gun can perform some discrete disco light-show it sure can put some sparks in the work :-) I know the RGBW ring would be better, but where I live it's hard to lay my hands on and it's more expensive. Considering the fact it might get some PU-glue on it, the cheaper the ring the better. My only concern is if I can get some sort of "decent" white light from the RGB ring. It doesn't have to be perfect white light, just something I can work with.