components for newbie workshop
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

components for newbie workshop

by marzetti on Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:46 am

I'm just getting started with Arduino and electronics. My primary interest is motor control so I will be experimenting with various motor driver chips. Could someone suggest a good assortment of basic components (resistors, capacitors, etc.) to stock up on so I won't have to be running to Radio Shack to get something I need.

Thanks,
Greg

marzetti

Re: components for newbie workshop

by zener on Fri Nov 05, 2010 1:47 pm

That's a tough one. You can get 1000 parts and not have the one you need. I work in a small factory and we don't have what we need half the time. But whatever you need, I probably have it...

zener

by uoip on Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:05 pm

If Radio Shack stock a cheap assortment of them, you should at least think about stocking them too. Following that guideline, it's good to have a bunch of resistors, a few capacitors, some diodes, PNP and NPN transistors, and LEDs. You'll figure out what's most useful for your own situation.

As for me, I feel like connectors are a key. I always want more stackable banana plugs. I'm always cutting cables in half and soldering stackable banana plugs to the wires in the cable, so I can reconnect things in nefarious ways. I've bought a few universal battery eliminators on sale just because they came with a nice cable that had a few dozen different connectors on the end (barrel connectors, audio connectors, just about anything that's commonly used for low voltage DC). I cut the cable off the adapter and soldered stackable banana plugs to it, giving me access to a whole bunch of jacks. Micro grabbers, test leads, aligator clips, serial cables, ribbon connectors, terminal strips, Anderson Power Poles for 12VDC (google them), breakout boards, these are what I can't live without.
uoip