Help with H Bridge for Low Power Application

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
kw893

Help with H Bridge for Low Power Application

Post by kw893 »

Hello,

I'm new to using MOSFETs as switches and would appreciate any help with getting my project to work.

I'm building a power system for a load that requires about +/- 0.7V (it can be as high as +/- 0.8V though) with varying current (the average is about 30mA but the circuit should be able to handle at least 1A). I am trying to build an H bridge to control whether the load gets a positive voltage, negative voltage, or zero voltage. I have not gotten far enough along to try testing the entire H bridge since I've run into problems. To test the p-channel MOSFETs, first I tried just powering the load using a single logic level LP0701 p-channel MOSFET (see datasheet link below) as a high side switch to turn the load on and off. I have the source of the MOSFET connected to the 0.8V output, the gate tied to a Feather digital I/O pin (3.3V) with a pullup resistor to 3.3V rail, and the drain connected to the load. However, when I connect the load (which was showing an impedance of about 2Mohms when connected) to the drain the voltage across the load was about 0.2V instead of 0.7V-0.8V, with a voltage drop of about 0.6V over source to drain. (Note: I only have these p-channel MOSFETs in hand right now and don't have any n-channel ones.) I even tried replacing my load with a 2Mohm resistor to see if the circuit would react the same, and it still had the same problems.