Beginner -Bluetooth

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
dontaiz1993

Beginner -Bluetooth

Post by dontaiz1993 »

I’m very new to the world of adafruit but I’ve taken look at some projects and I want to try and get some better direction on this cosplay project I want to complete.

I’m making a helmet with an irregular matrix in a zigzag configuration attached similar to the Bluetooth Guggenhat project here on the site. I want to know how can I use the matrix to receive gifs to play and jpgs to display in real time if possible. If not in real time can I store the images and cycle through with my iPhone? Can this all be done with with Bluefruit Connect for iOS

adafruit_support_mike

Re: Beginner -Bluetooth

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

BLE won't be fast enough for real-time video. In practice, its maximum data rate is a few kilobytes per second.

For that kind of thing, it will be much easier to use a full-scale computer like the RasPi Zero-W:

https://www.adafruit.com/product/3400

It has enough memory and CPU speed to process real-time video and decode formats like animated GIF and JPEG. It also has built-in Wifi which you can use to create a control interface.

dontaiz1993

Post by dontaiz1993 »

dontaiz1993 wrote:I’m very new to the world of adafruit but I’ve taken look at some projects and I want to try and get some better direction on this cosplay project I want to complete.

I’m making a helmet with an irregular matrix in a zigzag configuration attached similar to the Bluetooth Guggenhat project here on the site. I want to know how can I use the matrix to receive gifs to play and jpgs to display in real time if possible. If not in real time can I store the images and cycle through with my iPhone? Can this all be done with with Bluefruit Connect for iOS