Rotation of 5” TFT screen (PID 1596) driven by a RA8875

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
bsengrx2

Rotation of 5” TFT screen (PID 1596) driven by a RA8875

Post by bsengrx2 »

I have been working with Arduino hardware for a couple of years and the complexity of my projects led me to need further resources and switched to Pi. I have a 3 b using both spi bus’ to read three MAX31855s and drive a 5” TFT screen (PID 1596) through a RA8875. Reading the Tcs and writing data to a file on the SD works fine, and the display can view the output of ra8875_simpletest.py. The only issue I had was finding the syntax to utilize the screen on the second spi bus:

spi = busio.SPI(clock=board.SCK_1, MOSI=board.MOSI_1, MISO=board.MISO_1)
display = ra8875.RA8875(spi, cs=cs_pin, rst=rst_pin, baudrate=BAUDRATE, width=800, height=480)
display.init()

For the application at hand, the tft screen needs to be in potrait mode. To achieve this I made the changes to /boot/config.txt recommended online in a variety of ways (display_rotate, LCD_rotate, 1, 90, ...). I feel the problem here lies in somehow not defining which screen the rotation is to apply to, similar to defining which hardware is on which spi bus.

Rather than dedicate a display to the Pi, I have been remoting in using SSH or RealVNC. When display_rotate=1 is added to boot/config.txt it results in rotation of the screen displayed through RealVNC but does nothing to the tft display output from ra8875_simpletest.py.

There are several lines in config.txt below I do not understand but think is where the problem lies.

Code: Select all

[pi4]
# Enable DRM VC4 V3D driver on top of the dispmanx display stack
dtoverlay=vc4-fkms-v3d
max_framebuffers=2

[all]
#dtoverlay=vc4-fkms-v3d
enable_uart=1
start_x=1
gpu_mem=128

dtoverlay=spi1-1cs, cs0_pin=11
display_rotate=1