Multiple INA219 issue

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
redmond

Multiple INA219 issue

Post by redmond »

I am an embedded systems engineer. Hardware and software C and C++.
Made a PCB with 1 x ESP-12 and 10 x INA219 TI voltage and current and wrote the app software.
I am using a recent Arduino tool set for compiling the source code and loading firmware into the ESP-12.
Using the Adafruit WiFi and I2C libs and .h files.
On the I2C bus I have 10 x INA219, address range [AO-A1] linked from 0x40 to 0x49. All INA219 are running at 3.3V and sensing 5V and 1A max
99% of the code runs perfectly.
PROBLEM: The strangest thing is if I call the INA219 driver with address 0x48 I can see that channel voltage OK but the current is 0.0mA
Yet all the other 9 channels work perfectly and report their E&I OK.
The same problem occurs on 5 PCBs.
I can see 12mV on the actual shunt pins of the problem INA219 yet the software drivers report 0.0 mA.
Scoping with a 100 MHz digital scope the I2C bus show the current values in the actual I2C INA219 0x48 packet DO vary with load current.
But the returned I value is always 0.0mA
HELP!

adafruit_support_mike

Re: Multiple INA219 issue

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

Hmm.. I can't think of any reason for that in the INA219 library or underlying I2C code.

Try writing a sketch that just reads the INA219s and see if you get the same behavior. If so, post your code and I'll try to duplicate it on my own hardware.

redmond

Post by redmond »

Hello and thanks.
Tried replacing the IC and fitting bigger cap across shunt (has 10R each side of shunt as normal). No luck
Tried reducing the I2C clock to 75KHz . No Luck
Tried just that channel on its own. No Luck.
Here is the code.

[The extension ino has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

adafruit_support_mike