Adafruit Industries, Essential service and business: NYC – Executive Order 202.6 - Read more. Accepting essential orders - here's how.
0

HIGH CURRENT AC switch
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

HIGH CURRENT AC switch

by gizmohalo on Fri Nov 19, 2010 6:18 pm

Hello, i'm looking for a rotary switch that can control a blower fan from an old A.C. system. it has 3 speeds, and i would like to control all three but i cant find a way to switch those modes safely with something that can handle 10 amps
gizmohalo
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:26 pm

Re: HIGH CURRENT AC switch

by zener on Fri Nov 19, 2010 7:27 pm

Are you asking for a 1 pole, 3 position rotary switch that can switch 10A 120VAC inductive load?

zener
 
Posts: 4567
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:38 am

Re: HIGH CURRENT AC switch

by gizmohalo on Sat Nov 20, 2010 10:52 am

Yes if that can switch 3 different speeds at 10 A 120v AC
gizmohalo
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:26 pm

Re: HIGH CURRENT AC switch

by gizmohalo on Sat Nov 20, 2010 11:03 am

I just cant find one that can handle 10 A, that is what i need help with.
preferably 20$ or less
gizmohalo
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:26 pm

Re: HIGH CURRENT AC switch

by zener on Sat Nov 20, 2010 3:21 pm

Here is one:

http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSea ... 60-2352-ND

However, it has nothing to do with the speeds. It just connects to one output or another. Are you replacing a switch you think is bad?

zener
 
Posts: 4567
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:38 am

Re: HIGH CURRENT AC switch

by gizmohalo on Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:17 am

no it was automated before and I'm making it into a shop fan for when I'm in the garage (live in Texas) when it is 95+ and this fan is pretty powerful :D
gizmohalo
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:26 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.