Delay ON Timer

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
hockeyboy423

Delay ON Timer

Post by hockeyboy423 »

So i’m fairly new to circuitry and such and i’ve been working on a small project that uses an adafruit sound board and my current struggle is attempting to make a timer on delay circuit to use to delay the power on of the sound board once power is connected (no use of buttons). I have tried using a 555timer to get a delay but the capacitor on the circuit holds a charge and the next time the 555 timer gets power theres no delay unless I manually discharge the capacitor. any help or input would be greatly appreciated, thank you

adafruit_support_mike

Re: Delay ON Timer

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

It’e even easier than using a 555: just connect a 10uF capacitor between GND and the FX trigger pin that should fire when things power up.

A capacitor’s voltage depends on the amount of charge (electrons) inside it.. the capacitor’s value is the amount of charge necessary to produce 1V between the capacitor’s terminals. For a 1uF capacitor, it takes 1 microcoulombs (1 Coulomb = 6.25e18 electrons) to get 1V .

Charge moving from one place to another is called ‘current’, and the unit of current is 1A = 1 Coulomb of charge per second. If you feed current into a 1uF capacitor at 1A, it will take 1 microsecond for the capacitor’s voltage to change by 1V.

The FX Boards trigger pins need to stay low for about 125ms to play a sound, and we can say anything less than 1V counts as ‘low’. If it takes 10uC of charge to get 1V across a 10uF capacitor, and we want it to take 125ms to get that much charge into the capacitor, our current is 10uC/125ms = 80uA.

There are circuits that can deliver 80uA at any voltage, but there’s an easier option: use a resistor.