Work Space Setup - Lighting Issues
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Work Space Setup - Lighting Issues

by KeyboardKowboy on Fri Dec 03, 2010 3:15 pm

Hello to all of my fellow engineers and hobbyists,

I've recently become quite active with learning the finer things of electronics, soldering, prototyping, etc. and so, have setup a makeshift work space out in my garage. Needless to say I've had my fair share of obstacles to overcome including space and heat (it's December in NY... anyone who lives in the northeast at this point in the year knows what I'm going through). I've got a nice large bench to work on, but I'm forced to stand the whole time... and have purchased a 50,000 BTU propane heater. My major issue up to this point has been lighting! I just recently put together the LoLShield... and got a terrible headache from all of the eye strain. I've tried an led headlamp and and led light clipped above me on a shelf. I found reflections off of the PCB to be pretty harsh. I tried an iridescent (sp?) lamp, which seemed to work a little better, but still not what I would consider a good experience.

Please post with your work space setups and your lighting solutions! I've been contemplating buying and installing a couple smaller low hanging fluorescent fixtures... would that help? Also, should I buy a work bench style chair (that can prop me up high enough), instead of standing? Or should I get some sort of matt to stand on to relieve my feet from the hard, cold cement... Thanks for any replies and insight!
Memory is necessary for all the operations of reason. --Blaise Pascal
KeyboardKowboy

Re: Work Space Setup - Lighting Issues

by uoip on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:50 pm