Controlling 120 DC motors with one Arduino board.

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Hdemirchian

Controlling 120 DC motors with one Arduino board.

Post by Hdemirchian »

I would highly appreciate it if someone could guide me to a helpful schematics or document where I could learn how to and with which boards to build a system that I could control 120 DC motors.
I want to be able to control the motors' direction and keep the speed to the max.
I am not worried about the code because I am a programmer and I can figure it out. I just need help with finding the right hardware and instructions for wiring them.

Sincerely,
Henry

sj_remington

Re: Controlling 120 DC motors with one Arduino board.

Post by sj_remington »

Will each motor be controlled individually?

Brushed or brushless motors?

It is usually not possible to instantaneously switch motor direction without damaging the motor, so the condition of maximum speed at all times is unrealistic.

Is there a feedback signal from each motor? If so, what type?

What type of motor controller and/or type of control signal will you be using?

Note that the "right hardware" for motor control depends entirely on the voltage and current or power rating of the motor, so please specify those parameters, or post a link to the motor data sheet or product page.

Hdemirchian

Post by Hdemirchian »

Sorry for not including the motors' specs with my question.
Here they are:
Will each motor be controlled individually?
Yes. Some of them will go up, while others will go down. Some will not move at all. And some will stop halfway, while others will move all the way to the end of the screw length.

Brushed or brushless motors?
Brushless motors. They are DC 6V GA 12-N20-M4 500RPM Micro Speed Gear motors with a metal gearbox.