Feeling stupid about solder / flux
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Feeling stupid about solder / flux

by stephanie on Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:00 pm

I've been playing with electronics for over 25 years - assembling kits, etc. etc. I learned to solder before I learned to drive. My problem is that I take a few years (or a decade or so) off then come back to it, and some subtle changes seem to have come along and caught me in the rear.

When I learned to solder, the choices were 'use rosin based flux, not acid based flux'. Now I've just found out that there's water-soluble flux, which is a very different beast from rosin based. Found this out because some projects I've built have inexplicably failed after a short time in-use. Trying to diagnose the problem and noticed that the flux residue seems to be still wet, sticky, messy, and in some cases, it looks like it's been bubbling. Huh?!

Sure enough, the last 1lb roll of 63/37 I picked up is 'water soluble'.

My understanding is that with water soluble, one must clean the board after assembly. Do you need special equipment for this? I have a banned sink...

Is there a time-limit to cleaning? Can you clean the board off after say, a week? Two weeks? A month? Is the flux residue conductive? It seems to be, or at least, it conducts enough to confuse the heck out of microcontrollers.

Sigh and grumbles. I hate when the world changes and nobody tells me.

Cheers & thanks in advance.
stephanie

Re: Feeling stupid about solder / flux

by neutron spin on Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:45 pm

I would not use the water soluble flux for hobby use. The water soluble flux needs to be removed entirely or it can lead to corrosion if some is left behind. But it is easier to remove from underneath surface mount components. I personally only use the rosin based fluxes but again I am old school...regards... :)
neutron spin

by stephanie on Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:11 pm