Trouble deciding on microcontroller for Neopixel cosplay pro

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
sspain87

Trouble deciding on microcontroller for Neopixel cosplay pro

Post by sspain87 »

Edit: Just realized the posted subject line is cutoff from the original. The original said : "Trouble deciding on microcontroller for Neopixel cosplay prop - Absolute newbee"

When I say absolute, I mean I just discovered the existence of Neopixels and microcontrollers a week ago absolute. But I know it's exactly what I'm looking for for the project I'm working on.

I'm currently working on making a prop dagger, and I want to light up the blade with Neopixels and give it it a fire/flame effect. No sound, just the lights. And also a rechargeable battery.

After doing a ton of research on Adafruit's learning pages, the three microcontrollers I've narrowed it down to are the Feather 32u4, the ItsyBitsy 32u4, and the Trinket M0. Since this is a dagger, internal component space is at a premium, which makes me lean toward the ItsyBitsy or Trinket and a LiPo Backpack. However, I am constantly seeing the Feather series boards being pushed when it comes to cosplay props. So, does this mean I should try and squeeze the Feather into the design instead of going with the smaller (and cheaper, for that matter) ItsyBitsy or Trinket? If so, why? Again, all I'll be doing is lighting and animating the Neopixels with a flame effect.

Also, the Trinket M0 is smallest option of the three. However, it's also the most advanced. Does this mean it's harder for beginners to use over the 32u4 boards, or is the learning curve the same and it just happens to do more?

Thank you for your help!

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Trouble deciding on microcontroller for Neopixel cosplay

Post by adafruit_support_bill »