0

"Chunking" parts in Eagle CAD
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

"Chunking" parts in Eagle CAD

by shobley on Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:48 pm

Does anyone know if it's possible to create a library part from a existing group of sub-components in Eagle?

I have some things that I use again and again, and each time I have to redraw them, or copy paste them from an old schematic/board.

All the tutorials I've seen on creating new library parts start with drawing a single component inside a newly created library - what if I want to create a library part from a sub-assembly of an existing board?

For example I have a simple PSU circuit - it uses the same components and board placement again and again - can I just group select these and click a "make part" button somewhere...?

Steve
http://www.stephenhobley.com
http://www.youtube.com/shobley
For all your laser harp, tesla coil, and killer robots from outer space needs.
shobley
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 5:16 pm

Re: "Chunking" parts in Eagle CAD

by westfw on Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:12 pm

Sure. In general, you can't include "wires" in library components, but you can surely put arbitrarily complex drawings and pad layouts in there. There might need to be some tricks involved in specifying the connections, if you want the end symbol to be "simplified" (say, a three-terminal version of an LM317 circuit with the resistors and caps all there.) And once the pad placement is cemented in a library component, you will NOT be able to move around any of the sub-components on your layout...

westfw
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 1:01 pm
Location: SF Bay area

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.