Amplified stethoscope?
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Amplified stethoscope?

by roxanne91 on Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:35 pm

Hello, I am a student studying interdisciplinary sculpture. I am working on a project right now where I want the head of a stethoscope to connect to a speaker. I will need two of these, so at least two people can hear their hearts beating together at the same time. My idea is to have a rectangular column made of wood where I will embed the electronics/speakers. The stethoscopes and attached cords will come out of the column, enabling people to pick them up and use them.

Is this possible?
What kind of microphone can pick up the sounds from a stethoscope?

I have already searched the web for solutions and talked to teachers. So far I have not found a fool-proof solution. I have looked at acoustic and electronic/amplified stethoscopes. It seems that the best route will be to take the head of an acoustic stethoscope and embed a microphone into the tubing somehow which will then somehow connect to a speaker/microphone. Any help is greatly appreciated!
roxanne91

Re: Amplified stethoscope?

by adafruit_support_bill on Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:48 pm

An electret microphone cartridge would be a good sound pickup. Some are pretty small. You might be able to find one small enough to stick in the end of the stethescope tube. Sparkfun makes one with an atached pre-amp: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9964?

To power the speakers, we have a nice compact amplifier module: http://www.adafruit.com/products/987

adafruit_support_bill

by roxanne91 on Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:14 am

How would I attach the preamp to the amplifier? Are you sure this would be strong enough?