Li battery and charge controller for BT speaker

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
polakse

Li battery and charge controller for BT speaker

Post by polakse »

Hi, I'm new here. Found this site while looking for battery charge controllers. I have no experience on the subject, but I'm hoping some of you can provide guidance. I'm interested in building a Bluetooth speaker. At the heart of the device will be some really nice speakers and a Class-T amplifier... those aspects I've already figured out. What I'm struggling with is spec'ing a power source for the amp. I'd like for the system to be battery powered, but also work when a charge source is connected to the battery (i.e. to charge the battery and power the amp at the same time). The amp has a 12V DC input and comes with a 12V/2A DC power adapter/supply. Ideally, I'd just mount the back panel of the amp onto the back face of my speaker enclosure, and then - internally - re-wire the 12 V DC input from the amp panel into a charge controller for the battery. The battery will need something like 4 A-hr capacity (less is OK). How do I go about selecting a battery and charge controller? Is my plan even feasible, or am I neglecting something important? Thanks in advance for the feedback!

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Li battery and charge controller for BT speaker

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

All of our LiPo batteries and chargers are 1S (3.7v nominal).

There are lots of sources for 3S (11.1v) packs and chargers. You might also consider 12v NiMH packs. You can find these on Amazon, as well as the major hobby stores and battery vendors.

polakse

Post by polakse »