PiGrrl 2 TFT button assignment

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
acjgoblu

PiGrrl 2 TFT button assignment

Post by acjgoblu »

As a point of reference, my first experience with Linux was going through the tutorial to set up the software on the PiGrrl, so please keep in mind that I have very little knowledge of working within it's command line structure.

I was wondering if someone might be able to help me figure out how to program the PiTFT buttons. Specifically, I'd like to add SAVE, LOAD, VOLUME UP, and VOLUME DOWN as my four buttons. First of all, is that doable? If so, how would I go about it?

I've been able to access retrogame.c, so I know how to get there. Just can't for the life of me find anything to describe what keyboard commands I need to enter to accomplish these goals. I thought I saw somewhere that save and load should map to F2 and F4 respectively, but somewhere else says Alt-F2 and Alt-F4. If it is the latter, is it possible to instruct retrogame.c to do a dual button combination OR can you set up a hotkey/macro function within the program? And I have no idea what the keyboard commands for volume control would be.

This is probably super simple to some, but any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

acjgoblu

Re: PiGrrl 2 TFT button assignment

Post by acjgoblu »

Bump...anyone with any thoughts? I'm sure I can't be the only one who would like to use the TFT keys this way.

Please help!

-Andrew

Radduran

Post by Radduran »

For the Love of God BUMP! I have been searching everywhere for this info!

acjgoblu

Post by acjgoblu »

OK, I was able to figure this out. Not actually that difficult...