Standalone Arduino + Wave Shield + Ampli (20 hrs autonomy) ♫
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Standalone Arduino + Wave Shield + Ampli (20 hrs autonomy) ♫

by Math on Mon Mar 02, 2009 2:55 am

Hi to everyone!

I'm currently working on a project involving the realization of a stand-alone sound reproductor.
Sine I'm not really an expert I thought to ask here for some advices.

So, this sound reproductor:
- is rechargeable
- has to be loud enough (more or less like a violin...)
- ...should fit in a 4/4 violin :)
- needs an overall autonomy of more or less 20 hours (3-4 of which emitting "loud" sound)

Please see in the below attached image a simple diagram of what I thought could work.

Battery
For its form factor, price and mAh rating: YUASA NP 7-6 (7000 mAh, 6V) (datasheets).
I would charge this one with a proper Lead "wall wart" battery charger.
(Other option: NiCd / NiMh battery pack + proper charger?? :\ )
Also: good thing to interrupt the circuit to the BBC while charging or it's irrelevant? (see drawing)

Buck-Boost converter (BBC) (for maximum possible duration... me thinks!)
After checking DC-DC Step-up and Step-down converters I've finally met this nice BBC option.
I would use a circuit based on the Maxim's ICs MAX710 or on the MAX711 (like in the Minty Boost IIRC).
In this way I would have constant 5V from a source varying between 11 V down to 1.8 V... \o/ (right? better options??)

Arduino + Wave Shield
Ok, you know these. The only doubt I have is: the above BBC is outputting (more or less) a round 5V, so the best (only?) option would be to avoid the 7805 on the Arduino. What would be the better way to do this?
a) USB "plug" input
b) Directly to the circuit's 5V line ?
Then, looking at the various specs I think that the supplied 5V from above would also suffice for the waveshield, right?

Reed Switch