Flora possibly DOA?

Wearable electronics: boards, conductive materials, and projects from Adafruit!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Post Reply
User avatar
ariaaaaaaa
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2024 3:30 pm

Flora possibly DOA?

Post by ariaaaaaaa »

I recently got a Flora V3 and have found that neither the Arduino IDE or CLI can pick it up as a board, even after installing the adafruit AVR boards package (and drivers on Windows). I've tried with two different cables, on Windows and Linux.

Windows shows it as an unrecognised device, and Linux doesn't create a /dev/tty** device for it - both show it as an AMTEL ATm32U4DFU.

From some googling it looks like this might just be the wrong firmware and I can use some other tool like avrdude, but am not confident enough to test this as I don't want to flash the wrong thing and brick it. Is there a way to fix this?

User avatar
dastels
 
Posts: 16382
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Flora possibly DOA?

Post by dastels »

I doubt it has the wrong firmware on it.

Have you read through the tutorial guide: https://learn.adafruit.com/getting-started-with-flora.

Dave

User avatar
ariaaaaaaa
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2024 3:30 pm

Re: Flora possibly DOA?

Post by ariaaaaaaa »

Yep - installed the drivers, arduino IDE, and board addon. On windows, there's only COM1 which is unresponsive for doing anything (the tutorial says not to use it), on Linux no ports show up as available.

User avatar
dastels
 
Posts: 16382
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Flora possibly DOA?

Post by dastels »

You've tried 2 cables, ok, but is at least one of those definitely a data+power cable?

Dave

User avatar
ariaaaaaaa
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2024 3:30 pm

Re: Flora possibly DOA?

Post by ariaaaaaaa »

Yep - one is new and both work with other devices.

User avatar
dastels
 
Posts: 16382
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Flora possibly DOA?

Post by dastels »

Is the Flora's PWR LED illuminated?

Dave

User avatar
ariaaaaaaa
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2024 3:30 pm

Re: Flora possibly DOA?

Post by ariaaaaaaa »

Yes, but no change when pressing the reset button.

User avatar
dastels
 
Posts: 16382
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Flora possibly DOA?

Post by dastels »

OK. Please email [email protected] with a link to this thread, your order number, and request the replacement of one Flora V3.

Dave

User avatar
ariaaaaaaa
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2024 3:30 pm

Re: Flora possibly DOA?

Post by ariaaaaaaa »

Replacement has just arrived and has the same problem - with mine and a friend's mac and USB cable.

Is there a way to reflash the bootloader? As they both show up as an ATM32U4-DFU device, it seems like there's at least something there it's just wrong.

User avatar
dastels
 
Posts: 16382
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Flora possibly DOA?

Post by dastels »

What are the W* number on the packaging?

Dave

Post Reply
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Wearables”