New Metro M4 board does not seem to be working

Please tell us which board you are using.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
mwhannan74
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:55 pm

New Metro M4 board does not seem to be working

Post by mwhannan74 »

I recently purchased a Metro M4 (Order #2900352-2607536230; 8/10/22). I believe the board is not working correctly. I followed all of the directions on the setup page for Arduino (https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-met ... md51/setup). However, here is what happens when I plug the module into to my Windows PC with the latest version of Arduino.
  • I do see a green light on the board.
  • I do not get a Windows notification/sound that new hardware was installed when I plug in the USB from the board (I am using a short 6” USB cable that works with my Teensy boards).
  • I cannot see the board in Windows explorer, thus it is not acting as a UF2 boot drive.
  • When I am in Arduino, I only see COM1 serial port and no port is identified as the Metro M4 port.
  • If I select COM1, when I try to upload a sketch I get an error.
Error:
Arduino: 1.8.19 (Windows 10), TD: 1.57, Board: "Adafruit Metro M4 (SAMD51), Enabled, 120 MHz (standard), Small (-Os) (standard), 50 MHz (standard), Arduino, Off"
Sketch uses 11076 bytes (2%) of program storage space. Maximum is 507904 bytes.
An error occurred while uploading the sketch
No device found on COM1

I also tried connecting the board to an Adruino IDE that I had setup on a Raspberry PI, but had the same issues with not finding it on a com port. I tested both IDEs with my Teensy board and was successful, so I know it is not the IDE or computer.

For some back ground, I am not an Arduino expert, but I have done extensive coding with several Teensy boards using the Arduino IDE. I also have a very strong background in electronics and software. However, this is my first time working with an Adafruit board like the Metro M4.

Maybe I am I missing something during setup or is the board DOE?

User avatar
Franklin97355
 
Posts: 23023
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm

Re: New Metro M4 board does not seem to be working

Post by Franklin97355 »

One thing you could try is to enable verbose mode in update and when Arduino is searching for the port press the reset button on the Metro. Might work but who knows. Let us know.

User avatar
mwhannan74
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:55 pm

Re: New Metro M4 board does not seem to be working

Post by mwhannan74 »

Franklin97355 wrote: Wed Aug 17, 2022 3:08 pm One thing you could try is to enable verbose mode in update and when Arduino is searching for the port press the reset button on the Metro. Might work but who knows. Let us know.
Thanks Franklin. Unfortunately, that did not help. It just is not finding the board on a serial port, thus when I press the reset button nothing happens. It just keeps trying the port.

Forcing reset using 1200bps open/close on port COM1
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
PORTS {COM1, } / {COM1, } => {}
Uploading using selected port: COM1

Send auto-baud
No device found on COM1
Set binary mode
An error occurred while uploading the sketch


I am pretty sure there is something wrong with the board.

User avatar
Franklin97355
 
Posts: 23023
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm

Re: New Metro M4 board does not seem to be working

Post by Franklin97355 »

Have you tested the cable to make sure it can pass data? It sure sounds like it is just a charge cable.

User avatar
mwhannan74
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:55 pm

Re: New Metro M4 board does not seem to be working

Post by mwhannan74 »

Franklin97355 wrote: Fri Aug 19, 2022 12:56 am Have you tested the cable to make sure it can pass data? It sure sounds like it is just a charge cable.
Yes. I tried several different cables and double checked that my Teensy works with the cables. I have given up on trying to make it work. I tried everything I know.

User avatar
dastels
 
Posts: 11781
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: New Metro M4 board does not seem to be working

Post by dastels »

Does double-pressing reset while Arduino searches help?

Have you verified that the bootloader is up to date and updated it if not?

Dave

User avatar
mwhannan74
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:55 pm

Re: New Metro M4 board does not seem to be working

Post by mwhannan74 »

dastels wrote: Sat Aug 20, 2022 11:48 am Does double-pressing reset while Arduino searches help?

Have you verified that the bootloader is up to date and updated it if not?

Dave
I followed the instructions here (https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-met ... er-details) but no luck. I tried different ports and different cables, but I never see Windows recognize the board. It just seems like the chip is dead.

User avatar
mwhannan74
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:55 pm

Re: New Metro M4 board does not seem to be working

Post by mwhannan74 »

At this point, Adafruit has issued an RMA for me and I will just need to replace it. A bit BANNED, but I guess stuff happens. In the mean time I will just have to use my Teensy until a new board arrives.

Thanks for the help.

User avatar
mwhannan74
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:55 pm

Re: New Metro M4 board does not seem to be working

Post by mwhannan74 »

Update:
I received a replacement today. Plugged in to USB and this one works. There is a major difference between this and the original when plugged into the USB.
- The bad one only had a single green LED labeled "On" that lit up.
- The new board has the green light, a blinking yellow Tx light, and the multicolor LED (40) lights up and changes color.
I wish I would have know this from the get go. It would have saved me a lot of time and hassle knowing it was bad right out of the box.

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Metro and Metro Express, Grand Central”