IR LED's Not Working

Get help and show off your TV-B-Gone kit!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
TJMarsh

IR LED's Not Working

Post by TJMarsh »

Hello,

I am new to working with circuits... so please excuse me, if this appears to be a silly mistake on my part :)

This device was purchased last week from Amazon (https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00 ... UTF8&psc=1).

I have followed the instruction for the TV B Gone kit and completed the initial test with the Green LED and this passed as expected, but when i have completed the build, the main 4 LED lights are not working. I am able to turn off and on my TV at home, but i was wondering if with the LEDs not working, if this will limit the range of the device? Any help is much appreciated.
Front.jpg
Front.jpg (168.18 KiB) Viewed 2057 times
Back.jpg
Back.jpg (125.57 KiB) Viewed 2057 times
My reason for buying this device, is that my next door neighbour likes to have their TV on extremely loud, late at night. And i was hoping that this would allow me to turn off the tv and sleep.

Thanks for any help in advance!
Anthony

adafruit_support_carter

Re: IR LED's Not Working

Post by adafruit_support_carter »

IR LEDs are not visible to the human eye. The fact that it was able to turn off/on your TV seems to indicate that it is working.

TJMarsh

Post by TJMarsh »

Ah perfect - thank you for the reply. It threw me with the video where the LED's lit up and pulsed when the button was pressed.

Do you know if there is anyway to boost this device to turn off the TV next door? This would require it to go through a wall and i know that the IR wave normally doesn't go through...

Thanks,

adafruit_support_carter

Quite often the CCD sensors in cameras are sensitive to the IR wavelengths used by TV remotes. Try looking at the TV-B-Gone with your phone or other camera in live view mode. You may be able to see the IR LEDs work that way.