Hello all, SIM reader and videos.

Talk about the videos and projects (SIM reader, payphones...)

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
code-monkey

Hello all, SIM reader and videos.

Post by code-monkey »

Hi all. This is my 1st post. I watched episode 1 of Citizen Engineer ages ago, but watched it again today while browsing a video sharing/how to site, so I thought it would be a good idea to join the community to keep on top of any updates. That and the fact that from what I remember several adafruit projects have been featured on Hack-a-Day.

Thoroughly enjoyed episode 1, and I look forward to amy more that may come about. I thought making the SIM card reader would be cool, but when I saw a NOT gate I assumed the software would be communicating with the reader with a low level protocol as opposed to RS232 Serial, such as a microcontroller programmer I have that isn't compatible with USB-RS232 Serial bridges for this reason.

So I then bought a USB SIM reader that I knew the driver for which was a USB serial bridge, so I could write my own application for, as I use a MacBook. Later I thought that as there was no microcontroller (except for the SIM) on the board then the SIM must use a serial protocol. I'm guessing the on-board chip is some kind of level shifter?? Am I even in the same ballpark. I may be ranting, but it 5AM and I should probably sleep.

One question I had was would any possible episode 2 be able to include community submissions if they were up to the same quality as the original video? That way it may be able to include many different aspects of hacking, reverse engineering, and modification of hardware.