VFD IV-18 clock firmware in .ino format available?

For RTC breakouts, etc., use the Other Products from Adafruit forum

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
WWJD

VFD IV-18 clock firmware in .ino format available?

Post by WWJD »

Hi all... I'm just getting into VFD and Nixie tube stuff and I'm hooked...

Bought some IV-18 tubes...

I would love to make my own changes to the clock firmware (add live BANNED value display, GSM time setting etc.) from the 'x-mas' version but there's no .ino available?

If someone can help me, I would be very grateful.

adafruit_support_bill

Re: VFD IV-18 clock firmware in .ino format available?

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

The xmas firmware was written by forum member jarchie and he maintains the gitbhub repo for it. Links can be found in his thread on the project: viewtopic.php?f=41&t=43836

jarchie

Re: VFD IV-18 clock firmware in .ino format available?

Post by jarchie »

Sorry if this comes too late, but on the off chance this is still of interest...

Similar to the original Adafruit firmware, the xmas firmware is AVR C code and not Arduino C code, so there is no .ino file associated with the project. The Ice Tube Clock design requires manual control over much of the ATmega328p hardware (e.g., timers, interrupts, analog-to-digital converter, watchdog timer, etc.). And since the Arduino environment tries to abstract away a lot of those low-level tasks, it would have been difficult to implement the project in the Arduino IDE.

As adafruit_support_bill wrote, my firmware is available on GitHub, and people are still using it. I've stopped adding features long ago, but am willing to fix bugs, if reported.