bricked my ESP32-S2 feather with BME280 product 5303

Please tell us which board you are using.
For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
jesseshaver
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:08 pm

bricked my ESP32-S2 feather with BME280 product 5303

Post by jesseshaver »

Adafruit ESP32-S2 Feather with BME280 Sensor - STEMMA QT - 4MB Flash + 2 MB PSRAM Product ID: 5303

I have the above product. I think I may have bricked it. I tried to do a firmware reset using the ESP Web Flasher, but I am not sure if I am flashing the right BIN file onto this Feather. I followed the guide on the page below. Not sure if my BME280 board uses the same BIN or not. Any help is appreciated.

https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-esp ... tory-reset

User avatar
adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 29056
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: bricked my ESP32-S2 feather with BME280 product 5303

Post by adafruit_support_carter »

The BME280 is just a sensor added to the Feather board. It's external to the ESP32-S2 itself and does not generally affect the firmware.

The ESP32-S2 has a ROM bootloader. It's nearly impossible to brick it via any accidental incorrect firmware uploads.

What is the current behavior of the board? Which step of the WebSerial method is failing and how?

User avatar
jesseshaver
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:08 pm

Re: bricked my ESP32-S2 feather with BME280 product 5303

Post by jesseshaver »

The webserial process seems to complete just fine.

However, now, I can't upload sketches using the Arduino 1.8.13 IDE that previously worked. The com port changed (was COM3, now COM6 or it shows both COM3 and COM6, usually unlabeled, or sometimes COM6 ESP32S2 Dev Module).

Get board info on COM3 shows:

BN: Unknown board
VID: 239A
PID: 80EB
SN: Upload any sketch to obtain it

Get Board Info on COM6 ESP32S2 Dev Module shows:
BN: ESP32S2 Dev Module
VID: 303a
PID: 0002
SN: 0

It used to show the MAC.

If I have COM6 selected and try to upload:
Global variables use 17868 bytes (5%) of dynamic memory, leaving 309812 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 327680 bytes.
Forcing reset using 1200bps open/close on port COM3
PORTS {COM3, COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
PORTS {COM6, } / {COM6, } => {}
Couldn't find a Board on the selected port. Check that you have the correct port selected. If it is correct, try pressing the board's reset button after initiating the upload.
Global variables use 17868 bytes (5%) of dynamic memory, leaving 309812 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 327680 bytes.
Forcing reset using 1200bps open/close on port COM6
processing.app.debug.RunnerException
at cc.arduino.packages.uploaders.SerialUploader.uploadUsingPreferences(SerialUploader.java:152)
at cc.arduino.UploaderUtils.upload(UploaderUtils.java:77)
at processing.app.SketchController.upload(SketchController.java:732)
at processing.app.SketchController.exportApplet(SketchController.java:703)
at processing.app.Editor$UploadHandler.run(Editor.java:2071)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:748)
Caused by: processing.app.SerialException: Error touching serial port 'COM6'.
at processing.app.Serial.touchForCDCReset(Serial.java:107)
at cc.arduino.packages.uploaders.SerialUploader.uploadUsingPreferences(SerialUploader.java:136)
... 5 more
Caused by: jssc.SerialPortException: Port name - COM6; Method name - openPort(); Exception type - Port not found.
at jssc.SerialPort.openPort(SerialPort.java:167)
at processing.app.Serial.touchForCDCReset(Serial.java:101)
... 6 more

User avatar
adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 29056
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: bricked my ESP32-S2 feather with BME280 product 5303

Post by adafruit_support_carter »

OK, let's go back to the factory reset and check what was done there. The board seems OK, just maybe in an unhappy state.

In terms of the correct .bin to use, it's linked from the guide:
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-esp ... er-3108530
There's a green button with a link to the .bin file. Here's the direct link:
https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit-Fe ... loader.bin

Is that the .bin file you downloaded and then chose when using the WebSerial method?
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-esp ... ep-3106850

User avatar
jesseshaver
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:08 pm

Re: bricked my ESP32-S2 feather with BME280 product 5303

Post by jesseshaver »

Yes, that is the same BIN file I used.

User avatar
adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 29056
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: bricked my ESP32-S2 feather with BME280 product 5303

Post by adafruit_support_carter »

What board is being selected in the Arduino IDE? Under Tools -> Board

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Feather - Adafruit's lightweight platform”