Feather ESP32-S3 4flash 2psram - RGB Matrix Featherwing

EL Wire/Tape/Panels, LEDs, pixels and strips, LCDs and TFTs, etc products from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Rstwo

Feather ESP32-S3 4flash 2psram - RGB Matrix Featherwing

Post by Rstwo »

Feather ESP32-S3 4flash 2psram + RGB Matrix Featherwing & 32x64 rgb matrix...

I'm new to Arduino IDE, very rusty on C++... Trying to follow the adafruit guide for the RGB Matrix Featherwing. I've tried the Protomatter "simple" example scetch but I got nothing. I commented out all the board specific stuff at the top and just added the appropriate PIN definitions for and ESP32-S3... then I got a lot of light and garbage output on the matrix.

I can see in the protomatter libraries there are a lot of "arch" definitions. I can pick out that it's looking to identify a Feather ESP32-S3 with 8 GB flash and no-psram... but I don't see a definition specific to the ESP32-S3 with 4 GB flash and 2 GB psram.

Is the problem that the Protomatter library doesn't support this specific feather, maybe? Any hints on what I need to do to get this particular combination working with the protomatter library?

adafruit_support_mike

Re: Feather ESP32-S3 4flash 2psram - RGB Matrix Featherwing

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

Could you post a link to the code you're using please?

Rstwo

Post by Rstwo »

I am using the Adafruit Protomatter RGB Matrix library in the Arduino IDE as following this guide.

https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-pro ... no-library

I've tried both the "simple" and the "doublebuffer-scrolltext" examples that come with the library, neither work.