Pyportal titano, Radsens 2 Dosimeter

For Adafruit customers who seek help with microcontrollers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
jakpak131

Pyportal titano, Radsens 2 Dosimeter

Post by jakpak131 »

Hello :-) I purchased one of you Pyportal Titanos ,awesome little device, I am trying to create a project that reads values from several stemma devices SCD40, SGP40, LPS22 and a PMSA0031 and display continues readings on the screen. I am new to Python. I managed to get reading "somehow" from all of these devices and display live readings, still haven't figured out how to set a background image yet though but that can wait. My problem is I would like to add a dosimeter to the project. Unfortunately, you don't seem to make one "hint hint nudge nudge say no more say no more" so i purchased a Radsens 2 I2C Dosimeter. I initially had it and the other sensors connected to a feather with an eink display running Arduino IDE "Crude but effective" at which point I could use the Arduino library for it and read the values to be displayed. However, I wanted to switch to the Titano and Python for obvious reasons. Being New to Python I have managed to get the other sensors working BUT I have spent the last 3 days trying trying to read values from the Radsens owing mostly to the fact that there is no Python library for it as far as I can tell. For that matter I can't seem to read any I2C device unless it has a library. Long story short ...... to late ...... I am begging, nay pleading could you possibly create a library or help me figure out how to read over I2C from the Radsens 2?
Attachments
RadSens-1v4_datasheet_ENG_CG002-0.pdf
(611.68 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
code.py
(187 Bytes) Downloaded 6 times

mikeysklar

Re: Pyportal titano, Radsens 2 Dosimeter

Post by mikeysklar »

You can run a separate Arduino with the official Radsense library and feed the data into your PyPortal Titano via UART.