Substitution for Feather M4 ExpressATSAMD51 Cortex M4?

Please tell us which board you are using.
For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
ubuntourist

Substitution for Feather M4 ExpressATSAMD51 Cortex M4?

Post by ubuntourist »

Hi,

I'm a programmer by trade, and an all-thumbs beginner when it comes to anything hardware-wise. I'm planning to build the LED Protest Sign. I've opted for the larger sign which apparently requires the Feather M4 Express and the FeatherWing. I have all the Adafruit parts listed in the guide except for the currently out-of-stock 5.5 / 2.1mm Barrel Connector - DC Power Plug, and...

...the Adafruit Feather M4 Express - Featuring ATSAMD51 - ATSAMD51 Cortex M4 which appears to be perpetually / permanently out-of-stock, and I have no idea if there's a compatible equivalent that can be attached and programmed using the instructions in the guide. (I don't know enough to improvise.)

I was hoping to get this done in time for a December 15th protest. So, is there an alternative or is there hope that the part will come in?

Thanx!

dastels

Re: Substitution for Feather M4 ExpressATSAMD51 Cortex M4?

Post by dastels »

You could switch to a MatrixPortal https://www.adafruit.com/product/4745 Which is essentially a Feather M4 Express, a Matrix Featherwing, and an Airlift Featherwing all on one board. And it's in stock.

Dave

dastels

Post by dastels »

Another option is the Feather RP2040 https://www.adafruit.com/product/4884 but it's also out of stock.

Dave

ubuntourist

Post by ubuntourist »

dastels wrote: Fri Nov 25, 2022 10:44 pm You could switch to a MatrixPortal https://www.adafruit.com/product/4745 Which is essentially a Feather M4 Express, a Matrix Featherwing, and an Airlift Featherwing all on one board. And it's in stock.

Dave