2 steppers running simultaneously

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Christhebiss

2 steppers running simultaneously

Post by Christhebiss »

Hi!

I am an artist and try to finish my installation. (see pic) Therefore I need two steppers, which have to run simultaneously. As well I need to change the speed and the direction individually in the programming list, it should be kind of a composition, which I could change in detail.
Now, I got the latest Adafruit Motor Shild and the Itead Dual Motor Shild. The Itead shild can operate with more voltage, which also means that I can speed up the motor even more, right? So I still do not know, which shild I should take, because even I connect the 12V Adapter the full speed of the motors is quite slow, how can I improve?

The programming is as well a problem regarding the shilds and the circumstance, where I need to "wrap the steppers into an accel stepper-object". The example code from arduino is a mix of the library of adafruit and accel stepper. Isnt it possible just to control the two steppers with the adafruit library? Btw: Is there any proper manual for both library? I mean like a manual, which explains the structure of the code with examples?(Accel Stepper documentation is only about the functions)

Following you will see the code I am using right now:

Code: Select all

#include <AccelStepper.h>
#include <MultiStepper.h>

// Define the stepper motor and the pins that is connected to
AccelStepper stepper1(1, 2, 3); // (Typeof driver: with 2 pins, STEP, DIR)
AccelStepper stepper2(1, 6, 7);

MultiStepper steppersControl;  // Create instance of MultiStepper

long gotoposition[2]; // An array to store the target positions for each stepper motor

void setup() {

stepper1.setMaxSpeed(1000); // Set maximum speed value for the stepper
  stepper2.setMaxSpeed(1000);