How to use 24v Stepper motors?

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Kit101

How to use 24v Stepper motors?

Post by Kit101 »

Hi,
Apologies if I've missed something but I can't seem to find any product that will let me control 1 or 2 24v stepper motors up to 1amp using raspberry pi and an Adafruit product. I would like to use something from Adafruit as I like the python library and support but if its not possible is there a different product for this? I've seen the L298N but I have no experience with that... yet.

Thanks.

adafruit_support_bill

Re: How to use 24v Stepper motors?

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

The only thing we have is the DRV8871. But you will need 2 of them to drive a stepper. See this guide for details: https://learn.adafruit.com/current-limi ... th-drv8871

www.pololu.com carries a wider range of stepper drivers and will definitely have something that will handle 24V @ 1A/phase.

Kit101

Post by Kit101 »

adafruit_support_bill wrote: Mon Jan 30, 2023 4:43 pm See this guide for details: https://learn.adafruit.com/current-limi ... th-drv8871
Thank you for this. While the guide talks about using higher amp motors, I cant see anything about using a higher voltage than a single board is rated for. This is the diagram shown:
Stepper+2DRV8871.JPG
Stepper+2DRV8871.JPG (70.68 KiB) Viewed 210 times
Is there a certain way of wiring it to allow for 24v?
Thanks

adafruit_support_bill

I cant see anything about using a higher voltage than a single board is rated for.
The DRV8871 is rated for up to 45v.

Kit101

Post by Kit101 »

Sorry! I missed that. Are there any resources where I can learn how to control 2 DRB8871s using any of the adafruit python libraries? I see the example using a Arduino but I'm using raspberry pi and I'm not sure how to translate from one to the other...yet

Many thanks

adafruit_support_bill