Environmental sensors /// Guidance sought

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Forum rules
If you're posting code, please make sure your code does not include your Adafruit IO Active Key or WiFi network credentials.
dpuerto

Environmental sensors /// Guidance sought

Post by dpuerto »

I am interested in purchasing SCD-30 or SCD-41. I don't have RaspberryPi or Arduino. I am considering RaspberryPi since I heard it's better (Somehow, maybe a camera and WIFI already? but can't Arduino Uno do this?)

Anyways, which sensor is better? And how do I connect it? I have a greenhouse outside my house on the patio and I was thinking about putting the board in a weather proof container. I was thinking to write some software like Mycodo to simply monitor the readings and then store in Azure and Visualize on the Web using React with a PWA approach. I am a software engineer and I've built cars and motorcycles. I've never dabbled in the hardware but I think with my software capability that this should be doable in a weekend or several to really add some finesse. I specialize in the UI and am full stack so I can handle the flow of the data from the sensors to the persistence layer to the middle ware and then to the UI on the device... I'm just looking for a side project to work on Azure's IoT simulator which has Raspberry Pi already... so maybe pi is the way to go... but I could as easily use DigitalOcean or just local with Node/Express/Mongo for prototyping.

What's the cheapest way to get me going? I'd like to eventually have 6-10 sensors running in tandem with wifi and cameras... I don't know where to start, what to buy, and what to use to daisy chain them all together. RaspberryPi 4b is ~$80 for 4-8gb locally on the classified ads and at my office buy/sell/trade groups.