Adafruit MLX90640 IR Thermal Camera

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
livwid

Adafruit MLX90640 IR Thermal Camera

Post by livwid »

Hello! I am a student studying biomedical engineering, but this is a completely new topic to me. I only have experience in coding, not actually setting up a thermal camera. I am would appreciate some guidance on how to send data from the thermal camera to the computer. I have the Adafruit MLX90640 IR Thermal Camera and an Arduino Uno. Could I use the
'Adafruit EdgeBadge - TensorFlow Lite for Microcontrollers' and directly connect to the camera and Arduino Uno? I am wondering if this is the product I need to order, or if I should go with something like the Adafruit PyPortal - CircuitPython Powered Internet Display. I am unfamiliar with how these products connect/work.

sj_remington

Re: Adafruit MLX90640 IR Thermal Camera

Post by sj_remington »

I followed the Adafruit "Primary Guide" for the MLX90640, and it worked out of the box. MCU board was the Teensy 3.2.

Try some of the library examples.

adafruit_support_carter

Post by adafruit_support_carter »

Take a look at the product guide to get a general sense of how the MLX90640 breakout is used:
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-mlx ... mal-camera

What main board is "best" to use for connecting the MLX90640 depends on your application. Can you describe more how you want to acquire and use the sensor data?

livwid

Post by livwid »

I would like to capture thermal images and run them through a machine-learning algorithm in MATLAB (simple LDA classifier). While I would like to import and analyze this data in real time, I am not sure this is possible. If I could just save still thermal images that works too.

sj_remington

Post by sj_remington »