Metro ESP32-S2 Solar Charging

Please tell us which board you are using.
For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
trdmn1

Metro ESP32-S2 Solar Charging

Post by trdmn1 »

I'm a veteran coder, but this is my first real foray into hardware. I'm playing around with several of the Metro flavor boards (Express, Express AirLift, and ESP32-S2), along with the original Arduino Uno and Nano boards, and the programming part has been a lot of fun for me. I'm still learning my way around the physical components, though.

Here's hill I'm charging (no pun intended) today.

The Metro ESP-S2 has a charger built on board, which is fine, but I was wondering if it were possible to charge that from a 6V solar panel? Would I be correct in assuming that plugging the barrel connector from the panel into the Metro wouldn't be an adequate solution, for many different reasons (7V min, highly intermittent/variable power, etc)? Even beyond the voltage rating, would a 2W panel even be enough? Would it have to be rated higher than 2W?

On hand, I have, in addition to the boards mentioned above, the Solar/Lipo v2 charging board from Adafruit, as well as the PowerBoost 1000, which I'm not entirely sure is working correctly (95% certain it's my fault; also still learning to solder correctly). I've used these in the past for battery maintenance on the Express and Express AirLift.

At this point, my questions are academic, because I'm just trying to work with the components I have on hand before I go loading up the shopping cart and spending money on things I'm not sure I need or can use. I'm basically just trying to take the Metros out for a spin and see what they're capable of.

mikeysklar

Re: Metro ESP32-S2 Solar Charging

Post by mikeysklar »

Your Solar / Lipo V2 would be a good way to add a solar panel.