Motion/Vibration activated blacklight?

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
ProtorG

Motion/Vibration activated blacklight?

Post by ProtorG »

I'm an absolute beginner to circuits, so please excuse me if I'm asking super basic questions.

But I'm trying to make a jar lid with motion/vibration activated black lights. In other words, when the jar is picked up or moved around, or if the jar is opened, the black lights would turn on for a few seconds, and then turn off on their own.

Black light is needed because the lid is glow-in-the-dark, and the lights would charge the material from the inside. The glow-in-the-dark material is transparent, so the light being on the inside of the lid, would show up as green glow on the outside of the lid and the glow would slowly dissipate after the light shuts off.

I'm assuming I need black light LEDs and some kind of vibration sensor? But I'm unsure of anything else. I have a FLORA board I got as a gift, but I'm unsure how to use it, or if it's even helpful with this project.

If anyone could help me figure out how to make this, or at least point me in the right direction. I would appreciate it a lot!

Thanks!

adafruit_support_mike

Re: Motion/Vibration activated blacklight?

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

You've made a good start at an important part of the process: requirements.

A wide swath of technology can be usefully broken down into "something comes in, something goes out, and something connects the two." You've identified a possible input (a vibration sensor), an output (the UV LEDs), and a possible system to connect them (the Flora).

Those pieces will work together to make the system you want, though you may need a few additional parts like resistors.