RP2040 Feather with USB Host

Please tell us which board you are using.
For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Claude_J_Greengrass

RP2040 Feather with USB Host

Post by Claude_J_Greengrass »

As far a the RP2040 goes, I'm a newbie. I've been working on UNO, MEGA, and PyGamer boards in 'C'

I tried to follow the instructions here: https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-qt- ... cuitpython
using the Blink example. It compiles ok but during the download the Arduino IDE errors:

Sketch uses 10436 bytes (3%) of program storage space. Maximum is 262144 bytes.
Couldn't find a Board on the selected port. Check that you have the correct port selected. If it is correct, try pressing the board's reset button after initiating the upload.
Board at /dev/ttyACM0 is not available

The port is ok /dev/ttyACM0 Yes, I'm on linux with ide 1.8.16 The Green led is on and the Red led is blinking
A few seconds after the start of the download the error occurs.

any pointers to get over this initial error would be welcomed

mikeysklar

Re: RP2040 Feather with USB Host

Post by mikeysklar »

The instructions you linked to are for CircuitPython on a SAMD21 Qt Py board. That is quite difference than the subject of a Feather RP2040 using Arduino.

Are you using the Adafruit Feather RP2040 with USB Type A Host? If so, there is not guide for this brand new board yet, but you can use the Feather RP2040 as a general reference for most fucntionality. In this case you need to use the BOOTSEL button and RESET combination to enter bootloader mode.
The Feather RP2040 has two buttons.