Adafruit Feather Sense Power consumption

This is a special forum devoted to educators using Adafruit and Arduino products for teaching.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
NorwegianRocketMan

Adafruit Feather Sense Power consumption

Post by NorwegianRocketMan »

Hi!

This might be an uninformed and wierd question, I have little background in electronics!

What would be the typical power consumption of the Adafruit Feather Sense board? I guess this is highly dependent on how many sensors you use and how frequently, but is it possible to give a ballpark estimate? (Or min/max-values?) Also: What is a realistic maximum mW the board can deliver to the rest of the circuit?

Some background information:
My students are working on a project that involves a motor controller (Adafruit TB6612), SD-card and a radio-chip (Adafruit RFM96). I am wondering how much current this hole setup draws, and if the single 3.7 V battery is up to the task. (The motor controller has its own external battery supply for the motors it drives.) They have managed to fry two Feather Sense board, that might be due to some exposed wiring that has come into contact with each other, but I want to understand if somehow we are exceeding some power consumption limit or something.

mikeysklar

Re: Adafruit Feather Sense Power consumption

Post by mikeysklar »

The Feather Sense will consume ~7mA in idle mode. Depending on how much BLE traffic and sensor use that can be quite a bit higher.

The RFM96 is anywhere between 50mA - 150mA while actively transmitting / 30mA when listening.

A USB voltage meter is a simple way to determine more realistic numbers based on your workload.

NorwegianRocketMan

Thanks! Will buy that USB-device for sure!

An update on the project: