WS2812B-16 Fast power-up, Fixed color

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
jamestbfraser

WS2812B-16 Fast power-up, Fixed color

Post by jamestbfraser »

Hi guys, I have an LED matrix of 4x4 WS2812B LEDs, and I'm looking to set it up to all be one color that activates when the top of a box is opened, closing a microswitch to power it up. Trouble is, I'm VERY new to this type of LED and the signals needed to set the colors. I've never used an Arduino or Raspberry Pi, but I'm eager to learn! I have some background knowledge of electronics, and if this were a standard LED, it would be no problem. I'd like to keep the controller board as small as possible, and I'd like to be able to set the color and have it stick until I change it, so that when it powers off, it will retain the color setting when it powers up again. Can anyone recommend a good, small controller I could use? This matrix has GND, IN, VCC, and OUT solder pads. Thanks for all your help!

adafruit_support_bill

Re: WS2812B-16 Fast power-up, Fixed color

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

I'd start by having a read through the guide: https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-neopixel-uberguide

This type of pixel requires a microcontroller to drive them. Most any microcontroller will do. This is the tiniest one we make & will easily handle your matrix: https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-tri ... on-arduino

jamestbfraser

Post by jamestbfraser »

Thanks so much! I'll give it a good read! I appreciate the info!

jamestbfraser

Post by jamestbfraser »