***Building an Android Phone***

Talk about the videos and projects (SIM reader, payphones...)

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
mumera

***Building an Android Phone***

Post by mumera »

Hi Guys,

I am a complete newbie, but very ambitious none the less. I have yet not completed any projects but a want to build an Android Phone.

The first step, I guess as with any project should be to build the first prototype.

/***********/
/*PROTOTYPE */
/***********/

From browsing the various projects on the site, I am thinking (please some one correct me) that we will need to combine the following projects to get this to work:

1. A Linux based SBC (Single Board Computer) -> to Run Android -> Beagle Bone
2. A Touch Screen -> for I/O -> Beagle Touch
3. Battery -> Beagle Juice
4. A GSM Module -> for the Phone Functionality -> Something like the ADH8066

Nice to haves would be:

1. 3 Axis Accelerometer
2. A Camera

What do you guys this..... does this make sense even...... Please HELP!!!!..... or this just plain crazy

cstratton

Re: ***Building an Android Phone***

Post by cstratton »

That's a huge project, and would result in a stack of boards much larger and costlier than a phone.

If you want to do it, maybe start with just the sbc and the touchscreen and make some progress on the software stack before adding the expense of the GSM modem and battery system.

Another option would be to find a root-able android device, which would let you hack on the software at about the same level, ie system stuff but not the firmware of the radio processor. Or port android to a smartphone that shipped running something else. On the plus side, these are relatively less expensive paths and the results are physically compact; on the downside the hardware documentation available to you for the chips in consumer phones may be more limited than it is for modules marketed to integrators.

TheFallen