0

only accented notes playing??? - problem solved!
Moderators: altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, phono, hamburgers

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

only accented notes playing??? - problem solved!

by creekree on Fri Oct 19, 2007 4:57 am

my question is simple:

why is it that only accented notes are playing on my x0x?
when i turn down the accent pot completely the x0x will play nothing at all.
where should i start troubleshooting?

i should point out that i currently use a 50k pot instead of the 1M for VR6 but i somehow do not believe that is the problem - even with the decay pot (VR6) turned all the way all notes should sound, right?

thanks!
Last edited by creekree on Mon Oct 29, 2007 4:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.

creekree
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 1:40 pm
Location: Münster Monster

by phono on Fri Oct 19, 2007 5:09 am

its very possible that pot does affect it, ive not looked at the schematics but im pretty sure the decay affects the envelope, and when accents are triggered im pretty sure they affect the filter and envelope, so its definately a possibility. The difference between 50k and 1M is quite substantial, and is the pot you used log or lin?
phono
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 4:01 pm
Location: forum whore aka 2Cv

by creekree on Fri Oct 19, 2007 5:29 am

the pot is log.
i know it is the wrong part and i am about to order the 1M one.

now, lets just assume that (because the pot has a too low value) the decay pot is always completely turned down.
is your x0x playing non-accented notes then? i guess it should...

creekree
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 1:40 pm
Location: Münster Monster

by phono on Fri Oct 19, 2007 6:31 am

mine does yes, but i woudl take care of that pot, your assumtion about it would be true if it was linear, but with log pots its a whole different ballgame
phono
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 4:01 pm
Location: forum whore aka 2Cv

by LoopStar on Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:00 am

check the gate/envelope section! I remember my x0x doing the same thing with the gate/envelope not working. I don't know if it has to do with the pot. let's see if it works when you have the right part, first. If it doesn't change, I'd do some testing in the mentioned section.
website: http://www.myownmusic.de/artistpage_info.php?artist_id=141458
LoopStar
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 1:52 pm

by phono on Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:21 am

LoopStar wrote: I don't know if it has to do with the pot.


me neither really, but it makes sense if you have the wrong parts to fix them first :wink:
phono
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 4:01 pm
Location: forum whore aka 2Cv

by LoopStar on Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:29 am

phono wrote:
LoopStar wrote: I don't know if it has to do with the pot.


me neither really, but it makes sense if you have the wrong parts to fix them first :wink:


absolutely! :)
website: http://www.myownmusic.de/artistpage_info.php?artist_id=141458
LoopStar
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 1:52 pm

by creekree on Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:28 am

so, i put in the correct pot, but the problem is still there.
in fact, the decay pot VR6 doesnt seem to do anything at all, there is no change in sound regardless at which settings the other pots are.

notes are always short and only played if programmed with an accent.
if i turn down the accent pot all the way then the x0x will be silent.

any ideas???

creekree
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 1:40 pm
Location: Münster Monster

by guest on Wed Oct 24, 2007 5:30 pm

the vca is fed with two signals
one is the accent signal
and the other is the main envelope

your main envelope generator is broken
recheck the components in that area
q31 q32 q1 q2 q3 q4 and their associated resistors
guest
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 5:35 am

by creekree on Mon Oct 29, 2007 4:25 pm

guest, you rock.

i searched the forums on further advice to test my env section and came across this thread where fellow x0xer UnbelieverOz had the same problem as me.
luckily for him (and me) it got solved: Q36 was broken.
as suggested by you this is the perfect location to use a substitute, and since i had some spare 3906 kicking around i gave it a shot -

my x0x is working now.

thank you so much!

creekree
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 1:40 pm
Location: Münster Monster

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.