Desoldering

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Greatnate30447

Desoldering

Post by Greatnate30447 »

Brief history.... I'm a grad of digital electronics... More used as a hobby now-a-days...(Grad in respiratory)...

My Question is I have a PS4 I'm trying to fix for a friend... I located the problem as being the HDMI port on the circuit... And first off this problem is not limited to just this project either... I fine it almost impossible to desolder components off the board soldered in at a factory... What am I doing wrong...

Solder sucker.... Solder braids... Still no luck... It seems like my solder iron won't break the connection that the factory puts on these components... My iron is the standard 40watt 120v... I fine that I destroy the board trying to get the part loose... Any help is appreciated... Thanks Nate....

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Desoldering

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

The lead-free solder used in most production boards these days doesn't flow as readily as the lead/tin variety and requires higher temperatures. For multi-pin surface mount components especially, a hot-air station is more useful than a regular soldering iron. https://www.adafruit.com/products/1869

Atomizer_Zero

Post by Atomizer_Zero »